Featured Post

Review Paper Princess/Broken Prince (The Royals) by Erin Watt

Hello fellow book addicts If there is one series that you have to read this year it has to be The Royal series by Erin Watt. As always the...

Reviews

Dec 31st, 2013

Wow it's been a while since I posted to this part . of the blog. This blogging business is harder then I though but I am up for the challenge. Since this will be the last review of 2013, hopefully I can straighten out my schedule to bring you more reviews based on my personal reading and not blog tours(or at least find a balance lol). I hope your holiday's was wonderful and that you received plenty of gift cards to download new books :-). Anyhoo this book that I am about to review. Gave me a blah approach when I first read the prequel. Curiosity got the best of me and I decided to read the actual book.  I'm so glad I did. The prequel did not do the book justice.  But anyhoo let me get down to business..

Title : The Thrill of it
Author: Lauren Blakely



Blurb:A new adult story of Love. Sex. Addiction. Blackmail. And Power...

Some say love can be an addiction. Others say it's the thing that makes life worth living. Let me tell you everything I know about love...Love isn't patient, love isn't kind. Love is a game, a chase. A thrill. Love is wild and war-like, and every man and woman must fight for themselves. At least that's how it was for me. A high-priced virgin call girl by the time I started college, I was addicted to love and to sex. Even though I've never had either. I controlled love, played it, and held the world in the palm of my hands. Then I fell down from those highs, and I'm being blackmailed for all my mistakes, forced to keep secrets from everyone, except the only guy I don't regret.

Trey...

With all the other women, I knew what they were. They were temporary. They were pills, they were bottles, they took away all the pain, and numbed the awful memories that wore down my ragged, wasted heart. Until I met Harley. She's the only girl I ever missed when she walked away. But now she's back in my life, every day, and there are no guarantees for us, especially since I don't know how to tell her my secrets. What happened to my family. All I know is she's the closest I've ever come to something real, and I want to feel every second of it.

How can you love with no regrets when regret is all you know?

My Review

5 stars out of 5

I previously stated that there is a prequel to this book. Basically it's about how Trey and Harley met. I don't know reading the prequel didn't sit right with me. I guess it was because it was shrouded in a lot of secretes. I am glad that I decided to read The Thrill of it. I think what made me push past the novella was the fact that they were both heading to the same support group and it captured my interest to see what would happen to Harley and Trey.

Harley is a 19 year old college student with a secrete and issues with her past to boot. She has been put on the spot by someone she knows, to write a tell all book about her secrete life. She is willing to do what her blackmailer wants in order to protect her mother and her mothers reputation.

Trey is a tattoo artist who is also in college but his past runs deeper than Harley's. Growing up in a household where no feeling were allowed to be shown. Trey has learned to use older women as his outlet. All of that changes when he meets Harley(that happens in the prequel) and it flips his world upside down.

I couldn't put this book down(or should i say e reader and phone lol). The story gripped me from the very beginning. You have two troubled souls trying to find their way to what is right and not try to fall into old habbits(at least that is true for Trey). Harley I felt was in denial about her problem(but who wouldn't when you are forced to do it by your blackmailer). Trey and Harley has some wicked attraction going on between the two of them but both are scared to see if the other is playing a game or if they are feeling is real.

Harley's mom is a real piece of work. I won't say any more about it because I want you to read the story, but the fact is you would want to smack her and you totally understand why Harley is the way she is.

The road to recovery is had and I was rooting for both Trey and Harley to pull though. There were a few times I thought this is not going to go well or I know that he's going to loose her or vise versa. The ending really took me though a loop and can't wait to read the next installment to see how Trey and Harley get thought.

Just in case your interested in purchasing the prequel and book links are below

The Thrill of it (Amazon Link)

The Start of Us (Prequel)   *note* The Start of us is free at the time of this post. Please check the link to see if the price changed before one clicking.

If your interested in more of Author Lauren Blakely you can find her
Lauren Blakely Blog 

Facebook Author Page

GoodReads Author Page


Hope you all have a very safe and Happy New Year full of suspense, paranormal, romance and other reads you get your hooks on lol.

Behave yourselves and Read On!!!!






Sept. 30th, 2013

Morning Addict's

I have a new review for you all!!! One that does not involve hosting a blog tour stop lol(I really do love doing blog tours) So from now on this page will strictly be used for my pleasure reading(get your minds out of the gutter or keep it there lol). So with that let me go about how I discovered this book. Actually I receive emails from I Love Vampire Novels for free and reduced priced books. The featured book that day caught my attention with the cover and the excerpt. So I say hey!!! I really need to read this book lol.





Only a creature of the night can save her.

Four brothers. All turned vampires by the same evil Sire. They are the Lords of Blacknall, in this century. Trinity is the second oldest and while starting to investigate the murder of women on London’s east side, he suddenly feels a woman in danger. Why her? And why does this one woman’s blood set his thirst on fire. Can Trinity save Lady Beth from the monster that hunts her? Can he even protect her from his own wicked urges, wanting to devour her?Lady Beth Winslow never stays home in the evenings. She fears her despicable stepbrother. Then a monster stalks her in the dark woods and she cannot tell beast from savior. Gothic undertones fill this vampire regency romance novel with adventure and passion


Now here's what totally got me to want to read this book

The Except

Trinity became aware of the woman screaming as she thrashed on top of him. More powerful than her ineffectual attempts at breaking his hold, while she screamed shrilly into his ear, were the scents of her fresh blood, choking him. It was a quality of blood scent he’d never inhaled before.
His savage and barely-controlled inner hunter snarled to life. Fangs punched past his lips as twin weapons, gluttonous for the smell of pure virgin’s blood pumping from cuts on the woman’s struggling body. Ravenous hunger clogged his throat as he’d not felt since he was a young and uncontrolled vampire. Then, before he had any hope of exerting his willpower over the sudden monstrous cravings, his body turned, flipping the woman onto her back. He landed, pouncing over her. His fangs ready to strike, while the veins in his body throbbed for the blood he could smell.

Why was her blood so potent?

The animalistic snarl that lunged from his throat clashed with the woman’s frightened sobs, and her wide eyes gazed up at him with horror polished in their depths. Her small hands pounded against his upper chest as her bare hips and legs thrashed, trying to push his body off. His hard erection beneath his britches pounded for her submission, ordering his hips forward to press the rigid length down into her soft center, crushing her lower body’s struggle to a halt.
The woman whimpered in fear. Then she cried, “Oh no! No!”

The strangled animalistic sound he made choked the woman’s cried words into panting silence, as if she believed halting any motion would make the vicious animal set to strike her miss.
Beth couldn’t stand the predator’s gaze of yellow eyes with red glints slashed in the centers. She whimpered with sheer terror, jerking her gaze to the side, clenching her eyelids. She’d seen the long white fangs and she’d heard the animalistic snarls that came from the beast surely set to kill her. First, a monster hunted her and now another apparition held her captive. Yet the powerful menace against her felt like a man with hands, arms, legs, and a heavy chest. She felt men’s trousers along her bare legs, and she felt a jacket fallen open over her breasts. Was it a man?

Why didn’t it strike? her mind wailed, as her breath heaved. Was this the beast that chased her? She thought not. But her questions and abject terror paled in comparison when she felt a hardened length pressing into her core … and what that foretold, nearly caused her to fall into hysteria.
“Don’t move!” The commanding voice was a tense baritone with the aftereffects of a growl.
The appearance of human words so surprised her panicked state, she jerked her gaze toward the sound as her body quaked in reaction. Had someone come to save her?
“Don’t,” the beast above her commanded, “Move.”
To hear the semblance of a human’s voice in the world gone so mad made her hopes flare unrealistically. Yet they did all the same. She wanted to live.


My Review

I'm rating this book 4 our of 5 stars.

It was a very enjoyable read. The plot did have a few questionable moments, but that could be overlooked due to the tempo and theme of the story. The story revolves around Lord Trinity Montrose and Beth Winslow. Something is killing and ripping women to shreads. Lady Beth has been leaving out at night to get away from her stepbrother Fanton whom makes her uncomfortable with his weird ways and inappropriate glances and touches. One fatal night while looking for her friend Lady Ariel, Beth is the one being chased by the creature of the night tearing women to shreds.  Lord Trinity saves Beth but it comes with the price of keeping control over himself while around her.

Like I mentioned before I loved the story line between Beth and Trinity. It has a good amount of suspense and to me a touch of horror. I liked how Trinity's character was able to control his base urges towards Beth and her blood, but he seemed too gentlemanly at times around Beth treating her like a porcelain doll at times. Beth to me was a bit na├»ve but I can't  fault the author for that because of the time period she was writing about. Beth did come into her own once she started seeing and understanding what Trinity really is. I loved her bravery towards certain situations.

The only thing that disappointed me was the fact that I was expecting more from the final scene. I kinda felt like I was left hanging, but that is to set me up for the next book lol. I was so into the book that when I got to the end I was thinking "seriously you gotta be kidding me I want more".

If you all want to learn more about Author Shirl Anders you can find her through these various links.
Author's page Good Reads Facebook

That's it for now

Behave yourselves and Read On!!!!













Sept 3rd, 2013

Hey Addict's

Sorry it's been a while since I have left a review. I swear I have been reading but I haven't had time to actually record my reviews. In addition to not being able to post(My Dork hijacked the laptop), My four year old got sick the first week of school(he is doing much better), my crazy work schedule(or lack of one) etc.. But I will not bore you with all the obstacle's life is throwing at me right now lol. Instead I will be dropping two Reviews on you guys..


First up..

Rainwater Kisses by Krista Lakes

 

Synopsis

The older sister of Emma LaRue wasn't looking for love. In fact, the last thing Kaylee LaRue thought as she attended her sister's Caribbean wedding was that she would meet a man as confident as Owen Parker. The suave businessman oozed charm, and when that charm was directed at Kaylee, it gave her pause. She couldn't be sure if the man was actually interested in her or just interested in a good time.

In reality, Owen Parker had never met anyone like Kaylee LaRue. The quiet girl from Iowa made him forget to breathe the first time he saw her. When he tried to work his magic, her wit proved to be a match for his, and his charms had no effect. He knew what it looked like- she probably thought that he wanted to have a vacation tryst with her just as Jack Saunders had with Emma. Nothing could be farther from the truth.

Kaylee tried hard not to yield to his advances, but their last night in the Caribbean was simply magical. After a passionate night spent in the arms of Owen, Kaylee ruefully observed that there was no fake wedding to keep the two of them together. As she flew home, she thought it'd be back to the same old life for her. She never expected Owen to show up at her door.

However, this small town girl wasn't sure she was ready to change for this city boy. When Kaylee tried to fit into Owen's world, everything came crashing down. In the blink of an eye, what seemed like a strong foundation suddenly found itself built on a pillar of sand. Would their relationship blossom like Jack and Emma's, or would the two of them forever be haunted by the memories of rainwater kisses?







My Review

Rating 4 1/2 stars out of 5 stars

Kaylee LaRue much like her baby sister Emma has never traveled outside of Iowa. Now Kaylee is at the same resort where her sister and Billionaire Jack Saunders met, only to attend her sisters wedding to Jack. Enter Owen Parker, Jack's Best man. When Kaylee and Owen meet sparks fly but Kaylee want's something real and not the perks of the best man hooking up with the maid of honor. Owen tries to turn up his playboy charm to snare Kaylee, what Kaylee does not realize is that Owen is looking for something more also. Will their budding relationship be limited to the Caribbean or will Owen do any and everything to try to keep his dream girl.
I really love this series. Krista has done it again with Rainwater Kisses. I love how Krista pointed out Kaylee's weakness and how she written it, that it would not let it define who Kaylee is. She has created wonderful characters that you fall in love with from the first page. I loved how Owen was willing to sacrifice time and sleep to be with Kaylee and make it work between them. There was one scene in the book that I think could have either been left out or more could have been written on it. That was the scene where Kaylee confronted her ex. But other than that, and that heart stopping scene in Dubai. I really enjoyed this book. I hope there is more to this series.




Next Up is..


Biting Bad By Chloe Neill (Chicagoland Vamps #8)



Synopsis

Merit has been a vampire for only a short while, but she’s already seen a lifetime’s worth of trouble. She and her Master, centuries-old Ethan Sullivan, have risked their lives time and again to save the city they love. But not all of Chicago is loving them back.

Anti-vampire riots are erupting all over town, striking vampires where it hurts the most. A splinter group armed with Molotov cocktails and deep-seated hate is intent on clearing the fanged from the Windy City come hell or high water.

Merit and her allies rush to figure out who’s behind the attacks, who will be targeted next, and whether there’s any way to stop the wanton destruction. The battle for Chicago is just beginning, and Merit is running out of time.



My Review

My Rating 5 out of 5 stars
Merit, Ethan and the rest of Cadogan house are back. But this time they are dealing with rioters knocking off places where vampires are associated with. In addition of dealing with the rioters they are dealing with the GP and "Gasp" Merit's family.

Chicagoland Vamps is one of my favorite series and I was just excited to get another dose of what I needed at the time, Ethan and Merit. Biting bad had it's moments when I was trying to guess who was behind all the riots? Of course I knew who as with the plot line I was right with Merit trying to figure out the how and why. Chloe really did an outstanding job with this one. Keeping the balance with humor, mystery and suspense. The dynamic relationship between Ethan and Merit gets better and better with each book, and you can tell and see the growth(and they actually point it out in the book also lol) between the two. I can't wait for the next installment because Ms Neill left us on a cliffhanger.




If you guys are interest in Chloe Neill's books or you want to start from the beginning with Chicagoland Vamps you can find Chloe on these sites.




ChicagoLand Vampires Series in order

1. Some Girls Bite
2. Friday Night Bites
3. Twice Bitten
4. Hard Bitten
5. Drink Deep
6. Biting Cold
7. House Rules
8. Biting Bad


Next on the Review Train will be from R.M Mathewson



Synopsis
There was something seriously wrong with Marty. That was the only explanation that she could come up with. Why else would she feel this way for the biggest SOB in town? Granted, he was also the hottest man in town, but he was also arrogant, callous, and determined to drive her away even as he drove her crazy with his touch. She should just walk away from him and probably would if it wasn’t for this connection that she’d always had with him that kept making her want more with the one man that couldn’t give her anything more than heartache.

He should have left and never looked back when he’d decided to finally do the right thing and push Marty out of his life, but instead he stuck around to torture himself by staying close to the one woman that he could never allow himself to have. She deserved better than him, better than the tortured existence that he led and better than the horrifying future that waited for him
That's all I have for you all today..
Behave yourselves and Read On!!!!!!!

















August 10th, 2013




Howdy Addict's


I know it's been a while since I posted. I had a lot going on in the last week(hubby was reunited with his big sisters whom he has not seen in over 15 years). Also this little game that I am mentally cursing my coworker out right now about for getting me hooked on and taking away my reading time lol.
 But never fear I decided to take a break from Pet Rescue Saga to finish reading Crime Wave and I also have a review for you all.


But First.. Let me post the cover and blurb(courtesy of goodreads.com)


Synopsis

Maggie Thomas doesn’t know the first thing about being a private eye. She quickly discovers that running her uncle’s faltering Miami Beach P.I. agency is nothing like watching detective show reruns. Even the private eye app on her iPhone can’t help.
But Maggie’s first case is surprisingly easy… or so she thinks until she stumbles on a dead body. With whizzing bullets, car chases, and spandex clad bodybuilders, Maggie wonders if she’s in over her head. Jake Jackson, the dangerously charming cop, thinks Maggie needs to stick to snapping pictures of cheating husbands and leave the detective work to the professionals.
The danger escalates when another homicide victim washes up on the shore and now someone wants to stop Maggie from solving the murders. With the help of her knitting needle wielding, orthopedic shoe wearing assistant Dorothy Raye, Maggie must solve the case before she’s the next victim of this crime wave


My Review


Rating 4 star's out of 5


Maggie Thomas always dreamed of being a private eye when she was a little girl, now fate has set her in the path to become one when she inherits her late uncles P.I business. Along with inheriting her late uncle's P.I business she also inherits his receptionist Dorothy. When Maggie receives her first case little does she know she has stepped into a whole mess of a situation when things turn deadly. Someone is wrongly accused and it's up to Maggie to find out who the real killer is before it's too late.


Crime Wave for me is a really good mystery. I love how Rose kept the plot twist turning where it wasn't to confusing(where others are) but kept you on your toes with trying to figure out who did it. Dorothy is a hilarious and a feisty old lady who had me cracking up. She is the perfect sidekick for Maggie with keeping her in line and on her toes. I did want to see more with Maggie and Det Jake Jackson romantically but hopefully we will see more between the two in the next book. I don't read mysteries too often but when I do some plots turn too dark or by the 5th chapter I already guessed who did it and become quickly bored or uninterested in the story anymore.

Rose kept a good balance with keeping the book light with enough humor, suspense and mystery to keep you wondering until the very last confrontation when the killer is really revealed.

I can't wait to read the next installment.


And Now for the next book that I will be reading


Here is the Synopsis

The older sister of Emma LaRue wasn't looking for love. In fact, the last thing Kaylee LaRue thought as she attended her sister's Caribbean wedding was that she would meet a man as confident as Owen Parker. The suave businessman oozed charm, and when that charm was directed at Kaylee, it gave her pause. She couldn't be sure if the man was actually interested in her or just interested in a good time.

In reality, Owen Parker had never met anyone like Kaylee LaRue. The quiet girl from Iowa made him forget to breathe the first time he saw her. When he tried to work his magic, her wit proved to be a match for his, and his charms had no effect. He knew what it looked like- she probably thought that he wanted to have a vacation tryst with her just as Jack Saunders had with Emma. Nothing could be farther from the truth.

Kaylee tried hard not to yield to his advances, but their last night in the Caribbean was simply magical. After a passionate night spent in the arms of Owen, Kaylee ruefully observed that there was no fake wedding to keep the two of them together. As she flew home, she thought it'd be back to the same old life for her. She never expected Owen to show up at her door.

However, this small town girl wasn't sure she was ready to change for this city boy. When Kaylee tried to fit into Owen's world, everything came crashing down. In the blink of an eye, what seemed like a strong foundation suddenly found itself built on a pillar of sand. Would their relationship blossom like Jack and Emma's, or would the two of them forever be haunted by the memories of rainwater kisses


I promise I will not let Pet Rescue Saga cut into my reading time lol.


Until Then

Behave yourselves and Read On!!!!! 



















July 29th, 2013


Hola Addict's



Today I have a two reviews for you. The first one is Eversea by Natasha Boyd (Shout out to Kimberly for her book recommendation).

Eversea By Natasha Boyd

Synopsis:

 An orphaned, small-town, southern girl, held hostage by responsibility and self-doubt.

A Hollywood A-list mega-star, on the run from his latest scandal and with everything to lose.

A chance encounter that leads to an unlikely arrangement and epic love affair that will change them both forever.

When his co-star and real-life girlfriend is caught cheating on him with her married and much older director, A-list hottie, Jack Eversea, finds himself in sleepy Butler Cove, South Carolina. Jack hopes the sultry southern heat in this tiny coastal Lowcountry town will hide him not only from the tabloids and his cheating girlfriend, but his increasingly vapid life and the people who run it. He doesn’t count on meeting Keri Ann Butler.

Keri Ann has relied on herself so long, dealing with her family’s death and the responsibilities of keeping up her family's historic mansion, that boys and certainly the meager offering of eligible boys in Butler Cove, have never figured into her equation. But fate has other plans. Suddenly face to face with the man who played the movie role of her favorite fictional character, Jack has Keri Ann yearning for everything she has previously avoided ... and Jack must decide whether this funny, sassy girl is worth changing his life for, before his mistakes catch up to him


My Review

4 1/2 stars out of 5


This book was recommended to me by a good friend of mines. So I decided to read the blurb first before I purchased it. Holy Crap I'm so glad I bought this book. It kept me up half the night reading what would happen next between Jack and Katie and their evolving romance. Just when I thought it was going to be happily ever after for the both of them (((Pow)))Jack and Keri Ann get news that will send Keri Ann reeling and leave Jack Stunned.

This book had me at the beginning. It was slow in the beginning but it quickly let you know that the bigger picture was right around the corner. I loved how Natasha has taken the emotions from both Keri Ann and Jack and made it feel like you were there with them watching( I sound like a stalker lol) instead of reading what was going on. The chemistry between the two characters will leave you fanning yourself and swooning on your feet.

But I will warn you what I didn't expect was a Damn Cliffhanger at the end!!!!! I almost threw my nook hd across the room thinking I had more to read lol.

Awesome Job Natasha you just picked up a new fan and I can not wait to read the next installment and other books that you have written.

I highly recommend this book..


If your interested in finding out more about Author Natasha Boyd you can find her

Author page
http://www.natashaboyd.com

Facebook Author Page
https://www.facebook.com/AuthorNatashaBoyd?ref=br_tf
Goodreads Page
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7046321.Natasha_Boyd


Now for the second review. This book I happened to come across on one of the book blogger pages on FB. Now I will admit that the price turned me off but that did not stop me from buying it lol.

The Vampire Stalker by Allison Van Diepen
Now I will admit the cover had me intrigued and the synopsis roped me in.

Synopsis

What if the characters in a vampire novel left their world--and came into yours?

Amy is in love with someone who doesn't exist: Alexander Banks, the dashing hero in a popular series of vampire novels. Then one night, Amy meets a boy who bears an eerie resemblance to Alexander. In fact, he IS Alexander, who has escaped from the pages of the book and is in hot pursuit of a wicked vampire named Vigo. Together, Amy and Alexander set out to track Vigo and learn how and why Alexander crossed over. But when she and Alexander begin to fall for each other, Amy wonders if she even wants him to ever return to the realm of fiction



My Review

How many of us have dreamed of our favorite male hero or villain from their favorite books, well for 17 year old Amy her dreams are about to become a reality. When she is attacked one night traveling home, she is saved by none other than Alexander Banks of her beloved Otherworld series. But with the good must come evil. The Otherworld's vampire coven leader Vigo is in Chicago also. Will Alexander be able to keep him from bringing chaos to this strange new world or will his growing feelings for Amy distract him to his doom? Will Amy be able to let Alexander return to his world with her growing feelings for him.


I really liked this book it was a quick read. What I really didn't like was the price at $9.00(tax included) I would expect more than just 163 pages.

But on to what I thought about the book.

I really did like this book it was a light read. I think everyone can relate to Amy when it comes to her crush on Alexander, based on his character in the book. I like that Amy got to know Alex in real life and that she began to separate Book Alex from Reality Alex. Amy's two best friends Louisa and Katie keep the humor lively in the book. Where as Amy's little sister Chrissy will make you want to pull her hair out.

The story was well written and because  it's 163 pages it didn't feel rushed. Allison made sure to tie all loose ends before she ended the book. The only other thing I didn't like was the final fight scene between Alexander and Vigo. I don't know I was just hoping for something more. This is a great YA book for the 13 and up crowd.

Now this is a good book to have your tween or teen start out with in the paranormal genre.

If your also interested in more of Allison Van Diepen's books you can find her through these links.

Author Page
http://www.allisonvandiepen.com

Facebook Page
https://www.facebook.com/AllisonVanDiepen

Goodreads Page
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/498980.Allison_van_Diepen

And finally on to the current book that I am reading
It's really nice to work at a Hotel, I think the book gods were very, very good to me lol. I happened to be walking to the locker room after my shift to change and noticed this book sitting on one of the room service carts. I asked my coworker(Housekeeper) who's book and he told me that it was his(I knew he wasn't going to read it lol). So he told me that I could read it but let him know how the book was. I seen him today at work and not once did he ask about the book until I reminded him and he was like "oh it's yours I was just kidding with you yesterday since I know you love to read". So I'm pumped, but it's kinda odd to be holding an actually hardback book instead of using my nook hd lol. I guess I defiantly have to start reading more physical books lol..

But anyway here is the synopsis for Gone Girl

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears from their rented McMansion on the Mississippi River. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy's diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter—but is he really a killer?

As the cops close in, every couple in town is soon wondering how well they know the one that they love. With his twin sister, Margo, at his side, Nick stands by his innocence. Trouble is, if Nick didn’t do it, where is that beautiful wife? And what was in that silvery gift box hidden in the back of her bedroom closet?


That's all I have for today kids. Until Then

Behave yourselves and Read On!!!!!


















July 26th, 2013



Evening Addicts...


As promised our guest blogger for this evening is none other than my twin(not really twins lol) Christena (she's on the left lol)
 I'm going to hand the reigns over to her now so that she can tell you all about herself and her ARC review of Wicked Beat by Olivia Cunning. Enjoy Addict's



Twin Takeover!!! First off, gotta say thanks to my fav Book Addict for sharing her ARC with me, love ya!! She wants a quick bio, so here it is: 25 year old Virgo from the DMV who loves books, booze, and boys with tattoos! LOL I went to culinary school and currently work as a pasty cook. I also enjoy long walks to Wendy’s after a late night of clubbing with my fav peeps (not our Book Addict, she’s got kids…) Single and ready to mingle, just sayin, if you know any cute/not crazy guys(or creepers lol), holla at ya girl! Lover, occasional fighter, and book addict in training! Yeah, I’m that chick reading erotica on Metro, no shame. Now to the review:

                                
Wicked Beat by Olivia Cunnings
Here is the Synopsis:
 From the moment he lays eyes on Sinners’ new front of house soundboard operator, drummer Eric Sticks knows he has to make Rebekah his. Unfortunately, she’s too busy trying to seduce guitarist Trey Mills to pay him much attention. Rebekah never planned to fall for the tall, goofy drummer with the weird sense of humor and a heart the size of the galaxy. But Eric makes her laugh and his constant attention makes her feel sexy and irresistible–exactly what she needs after the things her last lover said to her. A woman who gives as much as she takes, Rebekah makes Eric feel like a total stud–exactly what he needs after surviving a decade of watching the incredibly talented members of Sinners from the wings

My Review


I give it 3 ½ out of 5 stars. Not my fav Sinners On Tour book, but top 3 for sure. If you follow Olivia (yeah, we’re on a first name basis, in my mind at least) you know that the books were not released in the order that they were meant to be read. So Wicked Beat is actually book 4, but was released as book 5. Weirdness. But who am I to judge publishing companies? (Yeah, I judged. Harshly.) But props to Olivia for not changing her stories to fit the oppressive demands of her publisher. Viva la revolucion! Although, it would have made my reading experience less crazy if there weren’t gaps in my knowledge of Sinners world. But whatevs, I got through it, cuz I love Sinners!! And I will read them again, in order, when my preorder downloads on my Kindle on August 6.

So I was really excited to read this book because: 1) as I may have mentioned, I love Sinners and 2) there was so many loose story threads from the previously released books that I desperately needed to know how they ended, but not necessarily because it was Eric’s book. Eric was always a little bit of a creeper to me, the one doing and saying weird things that were more confusing than anything else. Then in this book he became a real person, a real man. Mind. Blown. Olivia has this way of making characters that I think I hate decent human beings (I'm talking about you Jon) and characters I really wanted to love kinda douche-y (sorry Sed) It was such a pleasant surprise for me, actually liking Eric. He was like a puppy, really cute and endearing, then like the sexy rock god/musical genius he is, all rolled into one. 


And Rebekah. Reb was one of the few female leads by Olivia that I actually liked (sorry all previous heroines, except Aggie, who kicks ass!) She was kinda vulnerable, but stood up for herself when she needed to.  She had some flaws, but who doesn’t? She didn’t jump to conclusions and create unnecessary drama, she wasn’t any sluttier than I would have been in her situation, she was real. Holy characterization batman! Was not expecting that! I hate spoilers, but I will say my one pet peeve with Reb was she spilled her guts around page 112 (about her various insecurities and whatnots) but didn’t press Eric for more info about his past/quirkiness till like page 236. Really?! If I’m spilling my guts, so are you Mr Sticks, that’s alls I’m sayin. And while I’m on the subject of pet peeves, sometimes things get wrapped up a little too quickly and neatly, but it is erotica so I really can't ask for too much. There are a few twist and turns, and surprises I didn’t expect (Reb’s mom said what?! Isaac did what?! Trey, how could you? Oh yeah, you’re Trey, that’s how), but the main theme here is sex. It is erotica, no mistaking that. The #sexytime was definitely hot, kinda kinky, at times funny, hot, frequent, at times sweet, and did I mention hot? LOL


I would definitely recommend this book if you’ve read the others in the series. It’s not a stand-alone by any stretch of the imagination, so don’t think you can pick it up without reading anything else Sinners and know exactly what’s happening, cuz you won’t. If you want to get into it, start at the beginning and read them in order. I can't wait to reread these books (in order) and not have to search my memory banks for where events fit in Sinners world vs my world (aka when the books were released). Still looking for Sinners on my iPod, coulda sworn I just downloaded “Sever”…. (Miss)Behave and Rock on!


*Ah Hem* Thanks twin for your review lol. For those who are interested in reading The Sinners on Tour series, like Christena said they were published out of order (Not The Authors fault) So we will spare you the confusion and place the books in the right order that they  are suppose to be in.


1) Backstage Pass

2) Rock Hard

3)Hot Ticket

4)Wicked Beat
and
5) Double Time
If you guys would like to learn more about The Band "Sinners" you can go to http://www.oliviacunning.com for character bio's and funny interviews.
 I defiantly want to say a big Thank you to my twin for covering this review for me and blog post :-). Get use to this because you've been recruited lol j/k. But seriously if you have a book you want to show some love or discuss you can have the floor anytime :-).
Now from me as promised a quick update on my reading status with Eversea by Natasha Boyd.  Right now I am on page 481. This point in the book is at it's climax(snickers) seriously I left it at a very emotion filled scene with our heroin Katie. This book starts out as sweet then quickly turns swooney, and after the swoon you will be fanning yourself, but not without wanting to smack Jack.(Ha I rhymed lol) That's where I am in the book right now. Katie just got thrown for a loop with a shocking admission from Audrey(catty bitch, what!!! she is!!!). This book started out kinda slow for me in the beginning but quickly redeemed it's self but that's not a bad thing because it kept me glued to my Nook waiting to see what happens next. So all in a nutshell you will get my full review probably tomorrow or Sunday, because I'm not saying anymore about this book lol. I will say that I am loving this book and a Big Shout out to Kimberly for once again introducing me to Eversea and the talented Natasha Boyd :-).
Now off to let you guys enjoy your Friday night.
Behave(Or Misbehave) yourselves and Read(Rock) On!!!!!
 








July 24th 2013





Morning Addicts

You guys will be getting two reviews from me today instead of one. The first review is Losing Hope by Colleen Hoover
 As you guys know I had already read Hopeless which is Sky's point of view. So this one is Holder's point of view. I am going to refresh your memories with the synopsis and for those who are just joing us. Welcome :-)

Synopsis
                                                                               
In Hopeless, Sky left no secret unearthed, no feeling unshared, and no memory forgotten, but Holder’s past remained a mystery.Still haunted by the little girl he let walk away, Holder has spent his entire life searching for her in an attempt to finally rid himself of the crushing guilt he has felt for years. But he could not have anticipated that the moment they reconnect, even greater remorse would overwhelm him…Sometimes in life, if we wish to move forward, we must first dig deep into our past and make amends. In Losing Hope, bestselling author Colleen Hoover reveals what was going on inside Holder’s head during all those hopeless moments—and whether he can gain the peace he desperately needs.And as alway cover and synopsis borrowed from www.goodreads.com                                                                   

                       My Review

I'm going to start off by giving this book 5 1/2 stars. I have read many pov ( point of view) books and they start when the two characters meet. With Losing Hope Holder's pov starts right before his family suffers a heartbreaking loss. I love the fact that Colleen Hoover never had to alter or condesend herself or the characters she kept everyrhing consistant compaired to Hopeless, which makes the story line flow effortlessly. What I loved the most about Losing Hope is Holder's letters to his sister Les. I also loved the fact that you really get to see the emotional turmoil Holder is going through when he finally meets sky and things progress between them.  You get to understand why Holder was so intense and guarded around Sky. Basically its like Colleen takes that one missing puzzle piece and places it within Losing Hope. A little bit of news here about  Hopeless and Losing Hope both books have been optioned to become movies :-)


Now on to review #2

I downloaded this book a while ago It was free on kindle, also all the book blogger pages I have on my fb were highly recommending this book. I was going to read this before I recieved an ARC for Losing Hope but I held off until I finished reading Hopeless and Losing Hope. I'm glad I waited to read this. It was exactly what i needed to get out of the funk i was about to go into after reading two emotionally charged books. The Book is named Bully and the author is Penelope Douglas. Here is the cover and synopsis

Synopsis

My name is Tate. He doesn't call me that, though. He would never refer to me so informally, if he referred to me at all.We're neighbors, and once, we were best friends. But then, one summer, he turned on me and has made it his mission to screw up my life at every opportunity. I've been humiliated, shut out, and gossiped about all through high school. His pranks and rumors got more sadistic as time wore on, and I made myself sick trying to hide from him. I worried about what was around every corner and behind every door. So I left.I spent a year studying abroad and bathed in the freedom of life without Jared. Now I'm back to finish up high school and get the hell out of here forever. I'm hoping that after a year of breathing room, he's moved on and forgotten all about me. But even if he hasn't changed, I have. I'm not interested in avoiding him or turning the other cheek anymore. We're going to go head to head, because neither of us wants to back down.
                                                                           

                        My Review


Im rating this book 4 stars. I was a bit surprised when I read the synopsis, thinking its going to be a fun book where boy bullies girl, girl goes away and give him a dose of his own medicine. It is still along the lines of that but it goes a lot deeper then pranks and name calling. Jared Is a total ass to Tate(Tatum is her real name). Tate
is your typical above average high school girl, who is timid and a bit antisocial in the begining due to her being bullied by Jared and his best friend Madoc. When Tate leaves for a year to study abroad she gets the freedom she deserves. Until she returns Tate still is a little paranoid about Jared until her best friend K.C tells her its time to play the game and fight back.

What i really liked about this book is that Tate did stand up for herself against Jared and anyone else who deservered it, but at one point her actions are questioned when she starts to take things too far. The plot line was good and the flow of chapters were good. There were some grammer issues. I myself am no english teacher so i adapted and overlooked the issues. To me its not a big deal. This book did indeed have me up half the night because some scenes between Jared and Tate got pretty intense. Everytime I tried to put the book away I ran into a really good part and couldnt put it down lol. I am sad that it ended because I felt I was really getting to know Jared and seeing his and Tates relationship grow. But hopefuly Penelope will do a short story on Tate and Jared to catch up with them.


to learn more about Penelope Douglas you can find her
facebook: http://www.facebook.com/penelopedouglasauthor
GoodReads: Http//www.goodreads.com/Author/show/7139136.penelope_douglas



And now onto the book I am currently reading
 This book was Recommended by my friend Kimberly :-) she really loved this book and the synopsis caught my attention 

As I start my journery 
into Eversea by Natasha Boyd I will leave you guys with the synopsis



                        Eversea Synopsis


An orphaned, small-town, southern girl, held hostage by responsibility and self-doubt.
A Hollywood A-list mega-star, on the run from his latest scandal and with everything to lose.
A chance encounter that leads to an unlikely arrangement and epic love affair that will change them both forever.
 When his co-star and real-life girlfriend is caught cheating on him with her married and much older director, A-list hottie, Jack Eversea, finds himself in sleepy Butler Cove, South Carolina.
Jack hopes the sultry southern heat in this tiny coastal Lowcountry town will hide him not only from the tabloids and his cheating girlfriend, but his increasingly vapid life and the people who run it.
He doesn’t count on meeting Keri Ann Butler. Keri Ann has relied on herself so long, dealing with her family’s death and the responsibilities of keeping up her family's historic mansion, that boys and certainly the meager offering of eligible boys in Butler Cove, have never figured into her equation.
 But fate has other plans. Suddenly face to face with the man who played the movie role of her favorite fictional character, Jack has Keri Ann yearning for everything she has previously avoided ... and Jack must decide whether this funny, sassy girl is worth changing his life for, before his mistakes catch up to him.

Until then...

Behave yourselves and Read On!!!!








July 17th, 2013

Greetings Addict's

I finished reading Hopeless late last night and all I can say is Wow this book blew me away. This book has raw emotion dripping from the pages. I have never cried so much from one single book. But I will get into more of what I thought of Hopeless in the actually review.

But let me reintroduce you all to the cover and blurb




Book Blurb:  Sky meets Dean Holder, a guy with a reputation that rivals her own. Holder has the ability to invoke feelings in Sky she's never had before. In just one encounter he leaves her terrified yet captivated and something about him brings up a rush of memories from the past that she’s worked so hard to bury away.

Sky knows Holder is nothing but trouble and tries to keep him at a distance, but he is adamant about learning everything he can about her. Sky finally caves to his unwavering pursuit, but she soon finds out that Holder isn't the person he's been claiming to be. When the secrets he's been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky's life changes forever.




My Review/Thoughts: First of all I have to say this that I freaking <3 Colleen Hoover she is a kick ass writer who does not disappoint. I have read her Slammed, Point of Retreat and This girl books and she will never disappoint or have you bored with reading one of her books.

When first introduced to Sky Davis she is your average teenager who sneaks boys into her bedroom the same time her best friend Six(that's her nick name but Seven is her real name lol) who lives next door. There is a catch to why Sky is sneaking boys into her room. She want's to feel absolutely nothing. All that changes when she meets Dean Holder in a grocery store. He give her butterflies which she mistakes as the beginnings of a stomach virus lol. But it's evident in the beginning when they first meet that Holder recognizes her but ending up thinking it's a case of mistaken identity.

Sky and Holder run into each other again when Sky is out on her daily run. She ends up stopping in front of his house by coincidence. Holder is a really intense guy and has Sky nervous to be around him in the beginning. It didn't help things with the two when Sky's best friend Six tells her to stay away from Holder.

But all that changes when Sky is starting to understand Holder and his mood swings but she still feels that he holding something back from her. This is where I posted the other day saying I was hoping that they were not related. I am happy to report that they are not(whew) but its when Sky discover what Holder was holding back from her, Sky's past and all of her memories that were repressed start to break free, causing her world that she lived in to be snatched right out from under her.

This story line was well played out having you first guess why Holder was so guarded around her and why he was hot then cold towards her. It did have some light humored spots sprinkled in from Sky joking around with her best friend Six, to her text messages between her and Holder to her adopted mother Karen joking about having boys sneak into her room(if she only knew lol). I loved the fact that Sky has lived a sheltered life(Karen didn't believe in technology) it added a realness to it as to see a 17 year old struggle with texting lol. But I also loved the fact that when Sky begged to attend public school her senior year(she was homeschooled) that instead of running for the hills when she was teased she spun it around and didn't let it phase her.

There are way more points to this book I wanted to discuss but we will be here all day, and it's time for me to feed my little minions. But I will say a few more then I will give you guys what i'm currently reading.

The story line flowed so smoothly that I didn't realized I was halfway finished with the book until I looked at the page I was on. You could easily get swept away in this story with the plot and characters. Even though I am writing everything that i'm feeling about Hopeless it still feels like I didn't get enough in. This book is indeed the book to read. I highly recommend you all to read(if you already read it please re read it lol).



And now on to the book I am currently reading.

Yep that's right I am a glutton for emotional punishment lol. This is Holders Point of view book so umm yeah I might be in a non responsive state after I read this lol.

Here is the blurb:  In Hopeless, Sky left no secret unearthed, no feeling unshared, and no memory forgotten, but Holder’s past remained a mystery.

Still haunted by the little girl he let walk away, Holder has spent his entire life searching for her in an attempt to finally rid himself of the crushing guilt he has felt for years. But he could not have anticipated that the moment they reconnect, even greater remorse would overwhelm him…

Sometimes in life, if we wish to move forward, we must first dig deep into our past and make amends. In Losing Hope, bestselling author Colleen Hoover reveals what was going on inside Holder’s head during all those hopeless moments—and whether he can gain the peace he desperately needs


And as always blurbs and covers come from GoodReads.com

If you would like to find out more about Colleen Hoover you can click on the links below

GoodReads :http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5430144.Colleen_Hoover
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorColleenHoover?ref=ts&fref=ts
Official Author Page:http://colleenhoover.com/


Behave yourselves and Read On!!!!






























Down London Road Review.



Good Evening Addict's


I finished reading Down London Road last night or you can say early this morning(it was after midnight lol) But after being sick for two days and finally being able to read without my eyes closing on me(my eyes were swollen due to allergies). So as always I will be posting the blurb and book cover (courtesy of goodreads.com) followed by my review.


Down London Road
It has always been up to Johanna to care for her family, particularly her younger brother, Cole. With an absent father and a useless mother, she’s been making decisions based on what’s best for Cole for as long as she can remember. She even determines what men to date by how much they can provide for her brother and her, not on whatever sparks may—or may not—fly.

But with Cameron MacCabe, the attraction is undeniable. The sexy new bartender at work gives her butterflies every time she looks at him. And for once, Jo is tempted to put her needs first. Cam is just as obsessed with getting to know Jo, but her walls are too solid to let him get close enough to even try.

Then Cam moves into the flat below Jo’s, and their blistering connection becomes impossible to ignore. Especially since Cam is determined to uncover all of Jo’s secrets …even if it means taking apart her defenses piece by piece.




*My Review*

I really enjoyed this book. The plot was consistent and the characters drew you in with their personalities. The interaction between Jo and Cam in the beginning had me wanting to smack some sense into him, but he did redeem himself in the book by showing Jo that there was more to him than the arrogant, judgmental ass that he show's  Jo when they first meet. The old adage you can never judge a book by it's cover is totally true with Jo's character. From On Dublin Street you would never know what she was truly going through until this book. I did get frustrated with her character a little because of all the self doubt that she has going on in the book. Don't get me wrong she is a very strong woman who has made sacrifices for her family, but I felt the issue with her mother could have been handled a little differently. What I love about the book is that yes even though Jo has had some issues with self doubt but she does learn how to start believing in herself. Also I feel that Cam being a educated man could have had more common sense when it came to his ex Blair, but Samantha nailed that one on the head with how some guys minds work lol. But all in all I though this was an excellent read and I am defiantly looking forward to reading Before Jamaica Lane :-)


Of course I couldn't leave you guys without letting you all know what I am currently reading..
 
I'm going to do something a little different instead of just leaving you hanging with the cover I'm also going to post the blurb for each book I am currently reading. That way if you want to put it on your TBR list then you don't have to go search for the blurb.

*Hopeless Blurb*
Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.


I hope you all have an awesome weekend and if not I hope you have a really good book to curl up to.

Behave yourselves and Read On!!!


No comments:

Post a Comment